Enabling hubs for technical support

We support a network of Enabling Hubs around the country, which provide hands-on support to community-led housing groups right through the process - starting a group, finding a site, working up a planning application, building the homes, then managing them as people live there. If you're in an area not yet covered by an Enabling Hub, we have other options for you to get the support you need.

Where do I get support?

Enabling Hubs are regional or sub-regional organisations that provide one-to-one technical support for groups throughout your journey. They can:

  • Help you progress your project more quickly, giving you expert support.
  • Signpost helpful professionals in areas like architecture, planning, surveying, etc.
  • Broker relationships with Housing Associations, developer partners and Local Authorities, among other stakeholders.
  • Help you meet and network with other nearby groups.

The National CLT Network first developed a network of hubs called CLT Umbrellas, which only supported Community Land Trust. The network is now expanding to more of the country, and to support more forms of community-led housing.

If you are in an area covered by an Enabling Hub listed below, we recommed you get in touch with them and see if they can help.

You can also get support directly from experts through our CLT Start-up Fund and Locality's Early Stage Support programme. These are good options if there is no Enabling Hub in your area yet, or if your Hub can't support your project.

South West

Cornwall
Cornwall CLT
Contact Helen Downing, Development Manager Cornwall CLT: helen@cornwallclt.org or tel 01872 243554

Devon, Dorset and Somerset
Wessex Community Assets 
Contact: Steve Watson steve.watson.cltproject@googlemail.com or 01749 346954 / 07767 238665

Wiltshire and Gloucestershire
Wiltshire Community Land Trust 
Contact: Anna Maloney, anna@wiltshireclt.org.uk or 07985 407 762. Ian Crawley, crawleyid@aol.com or 01453 834 822.

Bristol, Bath, North Somerset and South Gloucestershire
Coming soon - a new Enabling Hub in development. Contact Anna Hope anna@ecomotive.org for more information.

South East

East Sussex and West Sussex
Sussex Community Housing Hub
Contact Tom Warder on 01273 407302 or tom.warder@ruralsussex.org.uk OR Graham Maunders on 01273 407329 or graham.maunders@ruralsussex.org.uk

Surrey
Surrey Community Housing Project
Contact David Cowan on 01483 447115 or davidc@surreyca.org.uk.

Hampshire
Coming soon - a new Enabling Hub in development. Contact Catherine Kirkham catherine.kirkham@actionhampshire.org for more information.

Oxfordshire
Coming soon - a new Enabling Hub in development. Contact Charlie Fisher info@oclt.org.uk for more information.

Brighton & Hove
Coming soon - a new Enabling Hub in development. Contact info@bhclt.org.uk or the Programme Manager Andrea Jones andreajones@bhclt.org.uk for more information.

East of England

Norfolk, Suffolk, Cambridgeshire, Bedfordshire, Hertfordshire and Essex
CLT East
CLT East are based in East Cambridgeshire but have recently started to extend their activities across the East of England. Contact: Debbie Wildridge on debbie@clteast.org or 07703 814 581.

Midlands

Lincolnshire, Nottinghamshire, Leicestershire, Derbyshire and Rutland
Lincolnshire CLT
Contact: John Mather, johnm@lclt.co.uk or 01522 785288

Herefordshire Centre for Community-Led Housing                                                      Contact: hcclh.pm@gmail.com or 07999925545

Yorkshire

York, North Yorkshire and East Riding
York, North Yorkshire & East Riding Housing Partnership
Coming soon - a new Enabling Hub in development. Contact Sarah Hall on sarah.hall@hambleton.gov.uk for more information.

Leeds City Region
Coming soon - a new Enabling Hub in development. Contact Steve Hoey on steve@hoey.org.uk for more information.

North East

Northumberland
Northumberland CAN
Contact Andy Dean on andydean@ca-north.org.uk or 01670 517178.

Related Links